The Geek Forum

• May 11, 2024, 03:46:53 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Due to the prolific nature of these forums, poster aggression is advised.

Recent Forum Posts

Shout Box

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 129628
  • Total Topics: 7187
  • Online Today: 158
  • Online Ever: 1013
  • (January 12, 2023, 01:18:11 AM)

Author Topic: Linux and wireless networking  (Read 1537 times)

Demosthenes

• Evil Ex-HN Moderator
  • Administrator
  • Hacker
  • Coolio Points: +567/-72
  • Just try me. See what happens.
    • View Profile
    • Zombo
Linux and wireless networking
« on: June 04, 2004, 09:11:08 AM »

:(

Linkage

Linux Still Needs Drivers

Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols - eWEEK

I think of myself as a Linux expert. I was a Unix administrator before Linux existed, and these days I run Linux on four servers and four desktops in my home office.

I also know my way around hardware, and I'm something of a network maven. And despite all that, I can't get Wi-Fi networking working on my Centrino-enabled Toshiba laptop.

Argh!

It's not a distribution problem. I also run SuSE 9.1, Red Hat 9 and the latest version of Red Hat Fedora, and none of them does well by Wi-Fi. When it comes to Wi-Fi, Linux is lacking.

Now, thanks to the hard work of the people at the SourceForge MADWIFI (Multiband Atheros Driver for Wi-Fi) project, I can get the 802.11b side to work. To do that, though, I had to get the source code and make the driver myself.

This is annoying but perfectly doable … for me. For Joe User, it's impossible.

Gah... this is EXACTLY the kind of problem I've been having with my own Toshiba Satellite laptop computer.

Granted, I'm not using Centrino / Atheros for wireless -- I'm using a D-Link DWL-G650 wireless PCMCIA card, which is actually even a little bit worse -- but I know exactly what this guy's talking about.