The Geek Forum

• March 28, 2024, 12:42:49 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Due to the prolific nature of these forums, poster aggression is advised.

Recent Forum Posts

Shout Box

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 129469
  • Total Topics: 7101
  • Online Today: 54
  • Online Ever: 1013
  • (January 12, 2023, 01:18:11 AM)

Author Topic: You can't make this stuff up  (Read 8889 times)

Chris

• Administrator
  • Hacker
  • Coolio Points: +286/-8
  • IT'S A TARP
    • View Profile
    • The Geekery
You can't make this stuff up
« on: January 20, 2017, 08:26:29 PM »

From time to time I still get updates about job openings from when I was a student in college. I guess it's a good thing that they provide this kind of communication to their alumni in the event that they find themselves looking for a job proactively or become unemployed.  

What I didn't realize, though, is just how GULLIBLE younger graduates have become with respect to jobs. Actually, let me rephrase that. How GULLIBLE they have become with pretty much everything. Maybe this stems from them getting the bulk of their news from social media and thinking it's perfectly fine? Maybe high schools are letting kids down by only focusing on making sure that students pass a test?

I got an urgent email from DeSales University warning me about a scam that's been going around. I thought they were referencing the Gmail phishing scam that has been going around recently. Nope, this was something completely different. I thought it was something really bad. Was someone going to their job fairs on campus pretending to be an recruiter from a local organization only to be some kind of crazed rapist dressed in nothing but a trench coat? Are they requesting nude photos prior to being hired and then posting them on their website?