The Geek Forum

• April 27, 2024, 08:16:04 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Due to the prolific nature of these forums, poster aggression is advised.

Recent Forum Posts

Shout Box

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 129552
  • Total Topics: 7149
  • Online Today: 180
  • Online Ever: 1013
  • (January 12, 2023, 01:18:11 AM)

Author Topic: General question regarding CGI programming  (Read 3496 times)

scribcake

• Troll
  • Coolio Points: +42/-2
    • View Profile
General question regarding CGI programming
« on: January 14, 2009, 09:43:33 AM »

Hey guys, know I haven't posted in a while. I was pretty busy with school for the last 4 months...

I started learning PHP and PostgreSQL as one of my new years resolutions for 2009, and to facilitate in my learning, I decided to develop an actual application, rather than just write random little scripts  :-P

Basically the application is a networked sales vendor system, for the metaverse Second Life (which I have been a long time member of), that utilizes a PHP backend to keep track of sales for individual users. Allowing users to view tables of their sales, and sort them based on sale volume, vendors sold from, etc... And then export the data to excel.

Anyway, one problem that I am facing at this point is how I am going to remove vendor records from the database, when they are deleted within Second Life. There is no way for me to send requests from the server into Second Life; I can only send http requests from SL to my server.

One solution I have devised is to have a timer in my scripts that will have the vendors ping my server, updating a timestamp. I will then have CGI on my server that will run a garbage collection routine that will go through my database and flag entries which have not had the timestamp updated within a certain amount of time, and alerting the user that their vendors/servers are no longer available in world.