The Geek Forum

• April 29, 2024, 02:07:53 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Due to the prolific nature of these forums, poster aggression is advised.

Recent Forum Posts

Shout Box

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 129569
  • Total Topics: 7158
  • Online Today: 273
  • Online Ever: 1013
  • (January 12, 2023, 01:18:11 AM)

Author Topic: MS Word  (Read 3600 times)

12AX7

MS Word
« on: December 07, 2009, 11:01:47 PM »

Ive been using Word for several years at work; since our ticketing system crashes every damn night for several hours; and Im left to manage incoming alarms and troubleshooting efforts with nothing but Word to copy/paste the alarm details into.
 Up until a couple of weeks ago; Ive never had any issues. I alt-tab to it, paste in what Ive copied. Later, I have to highlight/copy these ticket details in Word, and paste them back into a ticket when the system comes back up. Here's where my issue shows up.
  Up until recently, when I would hilite/copy something and then alt-tab to my ticket app,, paste it, and alt-tab back to Word; everything was still highlighted, and all I had to do was hit backspace and it disappeared and I'd move on to my next one.
  NOW, I highlight/copy, alt-tab, paste, alt-tab back; and nothing SHOWS highlighted, (but it IS) so if you try to highlight again (to backspace and delete it); it un highlights...  so then you have to RE-highlight it again, then hit backspace and . . .nothing.  Its still there. ( So you THINK.) It doesnt disappear now until you click SOMEWHERE ELSE on the .doc - THEN the UNhighlighted-but-actually-still-highlighted  disappears; and the entire rest of the text jumps up to fill in what you just deleted.